200 submit CVs for Zanu-PF primaries

15 Apr, 2018 - 00:04 0 Views
200 submit CVs for Zanu-PF primaries

The Sunday News

z 1

Senior Reporters
NEARY 200 Zanu-PF members in Bulawayo will battle out in the party’s primary elections next month for the ticket to represent the party at different levels in the harmonised elections that will be held in July.

According to the list of candidates who have submitted their names in Bulawayo and seen by Sunday News, 194 candidates submitted their CVs for the ticket to represent the party at Council, National Assembly and Senator levels. The figure also includes those under the Women’s quota.

A total of 60 candidates submitted their CVs for the National Assembly with most sitting MPs facing stiff competition to retain their candidatures.


Bulawayo East has the biggest number of candidates with 10. Those eyeing the constituency are Cdes Emmanuel Kanjoma, Josephine Danda, Kevin Muzvidziwa, Nkosana Mkandla, Sweet Sweet, Manala Moti, Minias Mpofu, Mathew Smith, Shorai Zonde and Enerst M Shora.


In Bulawayo South prominent businessman Cde Raj Modi will face Cdes Douglas Gangaidzo, Bafana Andy Dube, Sibekithemba Mafengu, Makunga Moyo, Nomalanga Gumede and Jameson Msika. Lobengula constituency has seven candidates — Cdes Christopher Sibanda, Patisani Dube, Micah Micheal Sikhosana, Aaron Ncube, sitting MP Maideyi Mpala and Golden Ndlovu.

Pelandaba-Mpopoma also has seven candidates where sitting MP Cde Joseph Tshuma will battle it out with Cdes Marshall Rusike, Itai Stephen Chitepo, Joshua V Mlambo, Sibangani Joseph Malinga and Alfred Mpofu. Nketa-Emganwini has five candidates namely Cdes Eliphas Mashaba, Honest Moyo, Albert Mavhunga, George Tshabangu and Livingstone Chikuni.


Bulawayo Central also has five aspiring candidates who are Cdes Mlungisi Moyo, Russell Thomas Nyatsimbo, Raymond Mutomba, Patrick Zharare and Mark Ncube.

In Luveve four candidates will contest against incumbent MP Cde Ntandoyenkosi Mlilo. They are Cdes Garikai PC Zonde, Bornface F Ndebele, Maxwell Chigerwe and Lazarus Runganga. In Pumula four candidates submitted their CVs including the party’s provincial youth chair Cde Khumbulani Mpofu who will battle with MP Cde Godfrey Malaba and Cdes Kalfinos Charumbira and Mazwine Gumbo.


Makokoba MP Retired Colonel Tshinga Dube who will face his former personal assistant Cde Nothiwani Dlodlo and Cde Peter Baka Nyoni, the husband to Cabinet Minister, Cde Sithembiso Nyoni. Nkulumane MP Cde Killian Sibanda will battle it out with his long term rival, Central Committee member Cde David Ndlovu.

According to the list, 22 candidates have submitted their names to represent the party in Senate.

Three candidates, including the party’s provincial chair Professor Callistus Dingiswayo Ndlovu are vying to represent the party in Mzilikazi. He will face Cdes Charles Nyama and Shadreck Mukaro.


Other senatorial seats are as follows, Masotsha (three candidates), Nketa-Emganwini (two), Nkulumane (two), Khumalo (two), Mabuthweni (two) Gwabalanda (two), Lobengula (two), while former national Youth Secretary Cde Absolom Sikhosana was not contested for the Nkulumane Senatorial seat.

The list shows that a total of 104 aspiring councillors submitted CVs to represent the party in the various Wards. Although Sunday News could not get hold of the Matabeleland South list, highly placed sources said in the National Assembly, over 50 aspiring candidates submitted their CVs in the 12 constituencies in the province.


Minister of State for Provincial Affairs for Matabeleland South Cde Abednico Ncube is likely to face radio personality Cde Omphile Marupi in Gwanda South constituency, while in Gwanda Central constituency the sitting legislator Cde Edison Gumbo looks to square off with businessman Cde Trynos Nkomo, Cde Japhet Dube and Cde Cecilia Ndubiwa, an ex-combatant and former Zimbabwe International Trade Fair (ZITF) public relations and marketing executive.

Member of Parliament for Insiza North Cde Andrew Langa is set to battle it out with Central Committee member Cde Patrick Hove, Cde Denis Ndlovu and Cde Kembo Nkomo.

In Umzingwane constituency the sitting legislator Cde William Dewa faces challenge from farmer and businessman Retired Brigadier-General Levi Mayihlome, Cde Themba Matutu, Cde Irvine Ncube and businessman Cde Fundilizwe Sibanda.

Member of Parliament for Matobo North Cde Never Khanye is set to battle it out with former Zimbabwe Teachers Association (Zimta) national treasurer Cde Edgar Moyo, former MP Cde Annanias Sitshomi Nyathi and youthful businessman, Cde Misheck Ndlovu while in Matobo South Cde Nkosi Fuyana and Cde Richard Njini will lock horns with the incumbent, Cde Soul Mahalima Ncube.


In Mangwe sitting MP Cde Obedingwa Mguni faces Cde Melita Moyo while in Bulilima West Cde Lungisani Nleya who is the sitting MP is set to battle it out with Cde Dingumuzi Phuthi.

In Bulilima West Cde Mathias Ndlovu and Cde Nqobizitha Ndlovu submitted their CVs for vetting, while in Ambassador Aaron Maboyi’s wife Cde Ruth Maboyi is eyeing the Beitbridge West constituency where she will face the sitting legislator Cde Metrine Mdau.


Former Deputy Director in the Central Intelligence Organisation (CIO), Cde Albert Miles Ngulube submitted his papers for the Beitbridge East constituency together with Cde Fulufhelo Mleya. In Gwanda North Cde Lungisani Ncube is set to face Cde Madodana Sibanda.

In Matabeleland North Province, 17 candidates are aspiring to represent the party in senatorial elections, while 14 submitted CVs for the consideration in the provincial council.


The names for all constituencies countrywide are now being vetted by the party’s National Elections Directorate which will release the final names of candidates.


However, in Umguza where the incumbent, Dr Obert Moses Mpofu has indicated that he is not seeking re-election, preferring the senatorial seat, reports indicate that Matabeleland North provincial chairman, Cde Richard Moyo will battle it out with Retired Colonel Albert “Four Four” Ncube while in Tsholotsho North the contest is between Retired Major-General Sibangumuzi Khumalo and Cde Believe Gaule.

See full list on www.sundaynews.co.zw

Share This: