16 Jun, 2024 - 00:06 0 Views

ZIMBABWE will host the Sadc Summit in August under the theme: “Promoting Innovation to Unlock Opportunities for Sustainable Economic Growth and Development Towards an Industrialised Sadc.”

Upon hosting the Summit, President Mnangagwa will assume the chairmanship of the bloc. The 44th Summit of Heads of State will be hosted at the New Parliament Building in the New City at Mt Hampden.

As part of the build-up towards this strategic regional grouping event, Sunday News will be carrying articles as part of updating our readers and keeping them abreast on what is happening in the run-up to, and during the Summit. We start with profiles of member States and this week we look at Zimbabwe and Mozambique.

Sadc in Brief

Sadc is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Co-ordinating Conference (Sadcc) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (Sadc). The mission of Sadc is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper co-operation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Sadc Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Share This:


We value your opinion! Take a moment to complete our survey

This will close in 20 seconds