Masiyambumbi leaves for IBA Women’s World Championships

12 Mar, 2023 - 00:03 0 Views
Masiyambumbi leaves for IBA Women’s World Championships Steven Masiyambumbi

The Sunday News

Innocent Kurira, Sports Reporter

TOP Bulawayo-based boxing referee Steven Masiyambumbi is leaving the country today for New Delhi, India where he is set to officiate at the IBA Women’s World Championships.

This will be his third time officiating at the prestigious competition.
“This is a big achievement. Everyone dreams of this. It means a lot and especially knowing I’m representing my beloved country and flying my country’s flag high. This is my third time, with God on my side I can do anything. I am only left with the Olympic Games and l know very soon I will be there,” said Masiyambumbi.

Women’s World Boxing Championships

The IBA Women’s World Championships are set to take place in New Delhi, India from 15 to 31 March.
The Indian capital has a history of success as it hosted the Women’s World Boxing Championships in November 2018. The last edition showcased 277 boxers from 62 countries. China, Chinese Taipei and India topped the medal standings for the tournament with Irish, German and South Korean athletes taking home at least one gold medal each.

The 2022 Women’s World Boxing Championships were held in Turkey where Istanbul welcomed 310 boxers from 73 countries, with women from 26 countries taking home at least one medal.
The competitions will be held in the following 12 weight categories: 48kg, 50kg, 52kg, 54kg, 57kg, 60kg, 63kg, 66kg, 70kg, 75kg, 81kg and +81kg.

Masiyambumbi holds a three-star referees’ and judge qualification, which is the highest in world boxing.
He has previously been invited to attend a course in Dubai, United Arab Emirates and excelled, resulting in him being nominated to officiate in the Men’s World Championships in Serbia.

He started the journey in 2014 after Zimbabwe hosted the African Union Sports Council Region 5 Games (in Bulawayo).
Countries in which the Zimbabwean has officiated at include China, Serbia, Mozambique, Botswana, Lesotho, Angola, Zambia, South Africa, Tanzania and Turkey.
Follow on Twitter @innocentskizoe

Share This: