International Cricket Council chairman steps down

01 Jul, 2020 - 16:07 0 Views
International Cricket Council chairman steps down

The Sunday News

Mehluli Sibanda, Senior Sports Reporter
INTERNATIONAL Cricket Council chairman, Shashank Manohar has stepped down after two, two-year tenures at the helm of the world cricket governing body.

The ICC board met on Wednesday and agreed that deputy chairman Imran Khwaja will assume the responsibilities of the chairperson until a successor is elected. The process for the chairperson election is expected to be approved by the ICC board next week.

Manohar (62), became the ICC’s first independent chairman in 2016, before being re-elected unanimously in 2018. He was constitutionally within his rights to run for a third term but decided not to stand.

ICC chief executive officer Manu Sawhney said: “On behalf of the ICC board and staff and the whole cricket family, I would like to thank Shashank for his leadership and everything he has done for the sport as ICC chairman. We wish him and his family all the very best for the future.”

Khwaja added: “Everyone on the ICC Board extends their wholehearted thanks to Shashank for the commitment he has shown to our sport. There is no doubt that cricket owes Shashank a debt of gratitude for all he has done for the sport. He has left cricket and the ICC in a better place than he found it.”

An Indian lawyer, the 62-year old Manohar was instrumental in Zimbabwe retaining their Full Membership of the ICC.

He visited the country in 2017 and sought the support of the Zimbabwean Government in seeking a solution to Zimbabwe Cricket financial woes, which threatened Zimbabwe’s membership at the ICC.

With his assistance, ZC have managed to clear most of their debt, with the remaining liabilities to be paid off before the end of this year.

Former Indian captain, Sourav Ganguly, now president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India has emerged as a top contender to replace Manohar, with the other aspirant for the post being England and Wales Cricket Board chairman Colin Graves.


Share This: